Loading Events

Upcoming Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

Venues

Event Category

Reset Filters

April 2019

Last Monday Book Club

Monday, April 29 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Powder Springs Library, 4181 Atlanta Street, Bldg. 1
Powder Springs, GA 30127 United States
+ Google Map

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal. Library Journal   Looking for a Book Club? The Powder Springs Monday Night Book Club meets the last Monday of the month @ 6:30pm.   Pick up a copy of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate at the Powder Springs Library. Join us for a relaxed and friendly discussion of this…

Find out more »

May 2019

Page Turners Book Club – Morning Group

Wednesday, May 1 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Mountain View Regional Library, 3320 Sandy Plains Road
Marietta, GA 30066 United States
+ Google Map
Free

The Page Turners Book Club meets the first Wednesday of the month at 10:30 am to noon for Group A and 1 pm to 2:30 pm for Group B at the Mountain View Regional Library. We read a mix of fiction and non-fiction that is voted on by the members of the group. The book of the month can be checked out by request at the Circulation Desk during the month prior to the discussion. For the Summer season of…

Find out more »

Page Turners Book Club – Afternoon Group

Wednesday, May 1 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Mountain View Regional Library, 3320 Sandy Plains Road
Marietta, GA 30066 United States
+ Google Map
Free

The Page Turners Book Club meets the first Wednesday of the month at 10:30 am to noon for Group A and 1 pm to 2:30 pm for Group B at the Mountain View Regional Library. We read a mix of fiction and non-fiction that is voted on by the members of the group. The book of the month can be checked out by request at the Circulation Desk during the month prior to the discussion. For the Summer season of…

Find out more »

“The Last Word” Book Discussion

Thursday, May 9 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
South Cobb Regional Library, 805 Clay Road
Mableton, GA 30126 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Are you interested in a laid-back and informal book discussion? “The Last Word” is the South Cobb book discussion group and just might be what you’re looking for. It meets on the second Thursday of each month at 4:30 p.m. We read a variety of fiction and non-fiction and always have fun discussions. Newcomers are encouraged to try us out! The current month’s read, Elizabeth Berg's novel The Story of Arthur Truluv, will be available at the South Cobb Library Reference Desk.…

Find out more »

The Game Is Afoot: Sherlock Holmes Story Discussions with the Kennesaw Irregulars

Monday, May 13 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Kennesaw Library, 2250 Lewis Street
Kennesaw, GA 30144 United States
+ Google Map

Join the fun with the Kennesaw Irregulars at our regular monthly meeting on the second Monday of each month. Presented by Dr. Helen Cauley, writer and President Emerita of the Sherlock Holmes Society of Georgia. Admirers of the Great Detective and lovers of classic detective fiction are welcome as we continue to revisit Arthur Conan Doyle's favorite stories from the Holmesian canon. This month Sherlock encounters landed gentry in: "The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual" from The Memoirs of Sherlock…

Find out more »

Booked For Lunch: Book Club

Tuesday, May 14 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Powder Springs Library, 4181 Atlanta Street, Bldg. 1
Powder Springs, GA 30127 United States
+ Google Map

Booked for Lunch meets the second Tuesday of the month. Join our relaxed and friendly book discussion group on May 14th at 12:00 pm. We will be discussing After Anna by Lisa Scottoline. No need to place a hold. You may pick up a copy of this book at the Powder Springs Library. Everyone is welcome to attend.You are invited to bring a lunch if you wish. The selection for the next month will be available immediately after each meeting.

Find out more »

Gritters Tuesday Afternoon Book Group

Tuesday, May 14 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every month that begins at 2:00pm on day Second of the month, repeating until Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Gritters Library, 880 Shaw Park Road
Marietta, GA 30066 United States
+ Google Map
Free

The Gritters Afternoon Book Group meets on the second Tuesday afternoon of each month for an active book discussion. The group reads and discusses a variety of works including fiction and nonfiction, an array of genres, and a mixture of cultures and time periods. We make every effort to have the book selections available for checkout at the Gritters Branch. Newcomers are always welcome!   January 8: The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates by Wes Moore (biography 2010) February 12: Warlight by…

Find out more »

Read. Think. Talk: The Sewell Mill Library & Cultural Center Book Discussion Group

Wednesday, May 15 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Sewell Mill Library & Cultural Center, 2051 Lower Roswell Road
Marietta, GA 30068 United States
+ Google Map

Read. Think. Talk: The Sewell Mill Library & Cultural Center Book Discussion Group, meets each month on the third Wednesday. Newcomers are always welcome. This month’s title: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (Fiction 2017) by Gail Honeyman.  Thirty-year old Eleanor Oliphant has become a creature of habit and a bit of a loner.  But when she and an eccentric coworker unexpectedly come to the aid of an elderly gentleman, the three become the kind of friends who rescue each other…

Find out more »

Story to Screen: Total Recall

Wednesday, May 15 @ 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Sewell Mill Library & Cultural Center, 2051 Lower Roswell Road
Marietta, GA 30068 United States
+ Google Map

It’s a book club…with a twist! Join us every month to continue the age-old debate: which was better, the original or the adaptation? Read the short story, watch the film with us, and then participate in an open discussion. Link to the story is provided below. STORY: "We Can Remember It for You Wholesale" by Philip K. Dick SCREEN: Len Wiseman's Total Recall (2012) In need of a vacation from his ordinary life, factory worker Douglas Quaid visits Rekall, a company that…

Find out more »

Kennesaw Tuesday Afternoon Book Discussion

Tuesday, May 28 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Kennesaw Library, 2250 Lewis Street
Kennesaw, GA 30144 United States
+ Google Map

Join us at the Kennesaw Library each month on the fourth Tuesday afternoon or evening for a lively book discussion. Newcomers are always welcome. The groups read and discuss a variety of works including fiction and non-fiction classics, a variety of genres, and a mix of cultures and time periods. We make every effort to have the book selections available for checkout at the Kennesaw Branch. Today’s title: H Is For Hawk by Helen Macdonald. c2014. Non-Fiction. An award-winning best-seller from…

Find out more »
+ Export Events