Several winners of the 2014 Edgar Awards, widely recognized as the top prizes for mystery writing, are in the Cobb County Public Library System’s Adult, Young Adult, and Juvenile collections.

RedSparrowPresented by the Mystery Writers of America, the Edgar Awards for fiction, nonfiction and other categories were presented May 1 in New York City. The works were published or produced last year.

Ordinary grace by William Kent Krueger won the Best Novel award. Set in Minnesota, the story is about the memories of a man recalling a series of strange twists to his life in 1961 when he was 13.

Other 2014 Edgar Award winners include:

Best First Novel by an American Author: Red sparrow by Jason Matthews, a spy novel set in modern (Putin’s) Russia by a veteran CIA official

Best Fact Crime: The hour of peril: the secret plot to murder Lincoln before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower

Best Young Adult: Ketchup clouds by Annabel Pitcher

Best Juvenile: One came home by Amy Timberlake

For more information on the awards, visit

Award-Winning Mysteries: The 2014 ‘Edgars’
Tagged on: